Polina Kanis

1, 2, 3, 4
12.07.2012 – 18.07.2012, Triumph Gallery

Polina Kanis grew up in Petersburg, where she trained as a teacher, before moving to Moscow and enrolling at the Rodchenko School. From 2009, the artist has actively participated in exhibitions, including group exhibitions in Russia and abroad (Warsaw, Vienna, Oslo, London and Kiev). Last year, Polina Kanis became one of the most frequently referred to modern artists following her receipt of the Kandinsky Prize for her work “The Egg”, which employed the motifs of the popular Soviet electronic game “Just You Wait!” The artist’s new exhibition, “1, 2, 3, 4”, has been named by simply counting the number of works and it comprises a series of video-documentations of performances by the artist.

Polina Kanis’s main materials are a video camera and her own body, with the aid of which hypothetical contexts are realized in almost scientific social experiments. “For me, it’s production with an element of randomness within it and a great deal of freedom that’s of interest. One of the important moments in a work is that you leave more air or space for the participants,” says the artist.

In her works, Kanis dramatizes varied situations: she dials a “phone sex” service and orders a strange fantasy – rape in a museum; she goes to a junior class at a Moscow school and, like a strict teacher, interacts with the children with the aid of a whistle; holds a gymnastics lesson for pensioners in Neskuchny Gardens. In her work “Purification”, Kanis reconstructs a ritual foot-washing common to varied cultures and traditions. She washes the feet of young people dressed in a white uniform, one by one, in so doing trying to reconsider it, and to purify it of its existing meanings and stereotypes. In the end, placed within a contemporary context, the canonical image entire deconstructs itself.

Полина Канис

1, 2, 3, 4
12.07.2012 – 18.07.2012, Галерея "Триумф"

Полина Канис выросла в Петербурге, где получила педагогическое образование, переехав в Москву, поступила в Школу Родченко. С 2009 года художница активно участвует в выставочной деятельности, в том числе в групповых выставках в России и за рубежом (Варшава, Вена, Осло, Лондон и Киев). В прошлом году Полина Канис стала одной из самых упоминаемых современных художниц после получения премии Кандинского за работу «Яйца», сделанную по мотивам популярной советской электронной игры «Ну, погоди!». Новая выставка художницы «1, 2, 3, 4» названа простым перечислением количества работ в порядке их создания и представляет серию видеодокументаций перформансов художницы.

Главные материалы Полины Канис – это видеокамера и собственное тело, с помощью которых гипотетические контексты воплощаются в почти научный социальный эксперимент. «Для меня интересна постановка с элементом случайности внутри и большей свободой. Один из важных моментов в работе – это оставлять больше воздуха для участников», – говорит художница.

В своих работах Полина Канис инсценирует различные ситуации: звонит в службу «Секс по телефону» и заказывает странную фантазию – изнасилование в музее; приходит в младший класс московской школы и, как строгая учительница, общается с детьми при помощи свистка; проводит урок гимнастики для пенсионеров в Нескучном саду. В работе «Очищение» Полина Канис воссоздает ритуал омовения ног, распространенный в различных культурах и традициях. Художница поочередно моет ноги молодым людям, одетым в белую униформу, тем самым пытаясь переосмыслить, очистить его от существующих смыслов и стереотипов. В итоге помещенный в актуальный контекст канонический образ полностью деконструируется.