CrocodilePOWER and Sandor Szasz

This Game Has No Name
01.12.17 - 14.12.17, Triumph Gallery

Triumph Gallery presents “This Game Has No Name”, a joint exhibition by CroocodilePOWER (Petr Goloschapov and Oksana Simatova) and Sandor Szasz. The artists depict worlds of manmade technology that are beyond routine perception. These worlds are inhabited by objects and creatures that have lost their essence and identity, changed their shape and internal compass. The viewer is presented with extremely fragile spaces that are looking both into the past and the future, brimming with absurd ideas, actions, and characters.
The metaphorical epitome of such a world, according to CrocodilePOWER, is a forest. A forest as an alternate dimension, where characters find themselves utterly helpless: having no map for the route that they came to enjoy looking for a nice walk and some fun. Immersed into the deepening abyss of unknowns, they face a choice, either to adapt or perish. Change transforms not just their habits, but the characters themselves; at the same time, continuing arrivals of new characters changes the environment too.
CrocodilePOWER: “A celebration of progress in the modern society that has seen no fundamental change, except for its superficial packaging, brings to mind an insane party. People get a magical ticket into a virtual dimension that was conceived to serve a good cause, but ultimately came to be a bubble of comfort that is becoming increasingly difficult to escape.”
The works by Sandor Szasz are visionary predictions that mock numerous forecasts of today’s researchers and futurologists. His art is based on the history of a small village near Lake Bezid (Transsylvania), where the residents had to leave their homes because a dam had been build close by. Disruptive change of the way of life, nature, and people was setting in gradually and inexorably like the water edging closer and closer. The artist equates this process to quiet loss of identity, so his characters have no faces or any other distinctive traits: sex, age, social standing. The series on display shows characters roaming the ruins of an amusement park and eagerly designing various contraptions using the rubble.
“This Game Has No Name” is an invitation by the authors to join a mysterious forest party. Exclusively for the installation set up on the ground floor, musician and DJ Artemiy Anrilov, also known as his experimental alter-ego Sofist, composed a piece for a modular synthesizer that he built himself.

CrocodilePOWER и Шандор Сас

This Game Has No Name
01.12.17 - 14.12.17, Галерея "Триумф"

Галерея «Триумф» представляет совместную выставку CrocodilePOWER (Петр Голощапов и Оксана Симатова) и Шандора Саса «This Game Has No Name». В своих работах художники изображают техногенные миры, выходящие за грань привычного восприятия. Эти миры населены объектами и существами, утратившими свою суть и идентичность, изменившими форму и собственное целеполагание. Зритель видит чрезвычайно хрупкие пространства, одновременно обращенные как в прошлое, так и в будущее, полные абсурдных идей, действий и персонажей.

Метафорой такого мира для CrocodilePOWER стал лес. Лес как другое измерение, попадая в которое персонажи становятся совершенно беспомощны — без точной карты, описывающей маршрут, по которому они пришли сюда, желая лишь прогуляться и повеселиться. Погружаясь всё глубже в пучину неизвестного они оказываются перед выбором приспособиться или погибнуть. Меняются не только их привычки, но и они сами, а под воздействием всё прибывающих новых героев – и среда.

CrocodilePOWER: «Праздник прогресса современного общества, в котором кроме оболочки ничего принципиально не изменилось, напоминает нам сумасшедшую вечеринку. Люди получают волшебный билет в виртуальное измерение, изначально призванное служить во благо, но в итоге ставшее лишь мыльным пузырем комфорта, из которого становится всё сложнее вырваться».

Работы Шандора Саса – это визионерские предсказания, насмешки над многочисленными прогнозами, которые строят ученые и футурологи наших дней. В основу его творчества легла реальная история небольшой деревеньки близ озера Безид (Трансильвания), жители которой вынуждены были покинуть родные дома из-за сооруженной неподалеку плотины. Изменения уклада жизни, природы и людей происходили постепенно и неизбежно со скоростью подступающей воды. Для художника этот процесс равносилен незаметной потере идентичности, поэтому персонажи его картин лишены лиц, да и любых других отличительных признаков: пола, возраста и социального статуса. В представленной серии герои блуждают на руинах парка развлечений и увлеченно конструируют различные устройства из обломков разрушенных аттракционов.

На выставке «This Game Has No Name» художники предлагают стать соучастником загадочной вечеринки в лесу. Специально к инсталляции в нижнем зале галереи музыкант и диджей Артемий Анрилов, под экспериментальным альтер-эго «Sofist», написал композицию с использованием собранного им модульного синтезатора.