Group exhibition

Mari. Research / Chuvash. Research
11.02.2015 — 08.03.2015, CCA WINZAVOD

Department of Research Arts is Russia's first inter-disciplinary project bringing together artists, photographers, geographers, anthropologists, architects and urbanists. The project's aim is to study the modern anthropological and geographical processes taking place in Russia using modern artistic practices.

Department of Research Arts project began in September of 2013 with a group exhibition dedicated to the Republic of Udmurtia, part of the Russian Federation. This was followed by a project by Igor Starkov and Daria Andreeva about the village of Kaleval in Karelia (January, 2014) and a group project studying the Moscow region (June, 2014), the territory of the former principality of Muscovy.

In 2015, the Department of Research Arts project received grant support from the Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation.

Triumph Gallery and the Winzavod Center for Contemporary Art now present new exhibitions of the Department of Research Arts project that focus on two neighboring republics in the Volga region – Mari El and Chuvashia. Despite their geographical proximity and the cultural links that have been established between them, the peoples residing in these two areas are very different – ethnically, the Mari are part of the Finno-Ugric group, while the Chuvash are part of the Turkic group, tracing their ancestry back to the Ancient Bulgars. The Mari continue to practice their traditional pagan beliefs, while the Chuvash have been Christianized to a greater extent. The exhibition presents a documentation of the modern life of the Mari and the Chuvash, attempting to define the identity and specific character of the way of life of these peoples in the present day.

The architecture of the exhibition takes as its starting point the fact that the regions neighbor geographically, presenting the Volga River as a key landscaping barrier that defines the interaction between the Mari and the Chuvash. The exhibition will include photographic and video works by artists who have studied Mari El and Chuvashia in 2010–2014, Chuvash and Mari objects of daily life from private collections, artifacts of contemporary city culture, photographs from family archives and the expeditionary photographic journals of Dmitry Doronin (a member of staff at the Institute of Ethnography and Anthropology of the Russian Academy of Sciences).

A round table and an excursion featuring leading urbanists, sociologists, anthropologists and photographic artists participating in the project will be held during the exhibition.

MARI. RESEARCH
Exhibition curators: Sofia Gavrilova, Kristina Romanova, Nikolai Ssorin-Chaikov
Photographers: Ikuru Kywadjima, Fyodor Telkov, Albina Shaymuratova, Maxim Sher
Academic consultants: Nikolai Ssorin-Chaikov (Cambridge University, Social Anthropolgy Department), Dmitry Doronin (Anthropoly Insitute, Russian Academy of Sciences)
Items of traditional cultural provided by the Mari El Community in Moscow and Dmitry Doronin and Vyacheslav Terkin.

The Mari are one of Russia's medium-sized peoples. According to the 2010 population census , there are just under 550,000 Mari in Russia. As well as the Republic of Mari El, contemporary Mari inhabit the south of the Sverdlovsk Oblast and the north of the Nizhny Novgorod Oblast (all of which are within the Russian Federation). Despite the assimilation of the native population and merging with the Russian, Tatar, Bashkir and Udmurt ethnic groups, in certain Mari settlements the authentic culture has been preserved: pagan rituals, traditional festivities, utensils and clothing.

The works of the photographers Ikuru Kywadjima and Albina Shaymuratova present the rituals of the Mari: annual Universal prayers of the believers of the Mari religion and the New Year celebration, “Shoryk-Iol”, which translates from the Mari as “sheep's leg”. In the latter ritual, adults and children search in the darkness of the sheep-fold for a white lamb which heralds good in the coming year. Whilst doing this, the faces of those performing the rite are always covered, so that bad words can't escape.

The series of works by the photographer Fyodor Telkov “A concealed people. Ural-Mari” is dedicated to a small group of Mari living in the Urals: the forefathers of the Ural-Mari emigrated to these lands, escaping enforced Christianization. Although the local inhabitants have been pagans, at present the majority of holy groves have been abandoned, and the rituals of old are only rarely encountered. The decline of a culture that developed over centuries can be seen in the fact that the native language has mixed heavily with Russian, and the art of embroidering traditional costumes has been lost. Nevertheless, at present the Ural-Mari are trying to resurrect what has been lost and to get back to their roots, despite significant numbers of youngsters leaving the rural regions and heading for the cities.

In the largest towns in the Republic of Mari El, there is a clear desire among the members of this ancient Volga region people to preserve their identity. This, however, is usually limited to the inhabitants adapting the traditions of old to the conditions of modern life. At the same time, there is also a tendency to imitate the architecture and the way of life of major cities.

In 2007, a decision was taken to change the appearance of the capital, Ioshkar-Ola, or Ioshka, as it is referred to by the locals. This small town, until 1919, was called Tsaryovokokshaisky. Prior to the Revolution of 1917, it had a population of just 2,500. In January of last year, its population amounted to 253,000. Its current appearance developed, for the most part, after the Second World War. In the center there are streets featuring cozy, although somewhat rundown two and four-story Stalin-era buildings; the rest is made up of the usual Russian town environment: five and nine-story, characterless, utilitarian constructions and industrial zones.

The series of photographic works by Maxim Sher shows how much the city has changed over the last five years. Ioshkar-Ola reminds us of the set for a Disney animated film or a snowy amusement park. Venetian palazzos, the Kremlin's Spassky Tower, the embankment in Bruges and other internationally renowned architectural monuments have become visual dominants in the central part of the city.

CHUVASH. RESEARCH

Exhibition curators: Sofia Gavrilova, Kristina Romanova, Nikolai Ssorin-Chaikov
Photographers: Vladislav Mikhailov, Ivan Mikhailov, Sergei Novikov
Scientific consultants:
Academic consultants: Nikolai Ssorin-Chaikov (Cambridge University, Social Anthropolgy Department), Gennady Ivanov-Orkov (Chuvashia State Arts Museum head of the decorative and applied arts department)

The Chuvash are a people of Turkic origins, and they are the native inhabitants of the Republic of Chuvashia. They number about 1.5 million, of which 1 million reside in Russia (according to the results of the 2010 census). About half of all Chuvash living in Russia reside in Chuvashia, with smaller groups living in Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan and Ukraine. Traditional Chuvash beliefs comprise a complex system characterized by polytheism and animism. At present, the Chuvash are the largest Turkic people where the majority professes the Christian faith.

Ivan Mikhailov in his photographic project deals with issues arising in a confrontation of the mythological pagan past of the Chuvash and their modern everyday lives, which is to say the transformations taking place in the cities and in the villages. In architecture, the new trading complexes and business centers reproduce traditional ornamentation, and on the facades of standardized Soviet multi-story buildings one can see branches of trees that have been attached by the locals – the branch is an ancient symbol for the universe. Portraits of youths, the desolate shores of the Volga River that passes through the entire region, parks and building courtyards – all this, in Mikhailov's works, depicts the visual landscape that surrounds the Chuvash of today.

In Chuvashia, Ivan Mikhailov photographed the Akatui folk festival, which celebrates the completion of the planting works, and the renowned Tsivilskaya fair. At the exhibition, these series of works will be presented together with archive photos from the 1980s shot in the same locations by the artist's father, Vladislav Mikhailov.

The photographer Sergei Novikov shows changes in the appearance of the capital of Chuvashia, the city of Cheboksary, that have taken place over the last 10 years. Among the locals, Cheboksary, which has a population of about half a million, is known as “the city on seven ravines.” Vast, oblong hollows create at once a somewhat uncomfortable environment and an attraction for the local population. The city is evolving, however, and its legendary ravines are evolving with it. Today, the widespread availability of mortgages and a desire among recent generations to own their own homes have led developers to build on a huge scale. First and foremost this concerns the outskirts of the city, bordering on the ravines, which are now being filled in for the construction of prefabricated multistory buildings and new transport links. Gradually, the private housing sector is disappearing, and many people are being forced off the land that was worked by their forebears in order to free up sites for the new constructions.

Групповая выставка

Мари. Research / Чуваши. Research
11.02.2015 — 08.03.2015, ЦСИ ВИНЗАВОД

В рамках параллельной программы биеннале «Мода и стиль в фотографии» 2015

«Department of Research Arts» — первый в России междисциплинарный проект, объединяющий художников, фотографов, географов, антропологов, социологов, архитекторов и урбанистов. Цель проекта — исследовать современные антропологические и географические процессы, используя современные художественные практики.

Проект «Department of Research Arts» начался в сентябре 2013 года с групповой выставки, посвященной Удмуртии, за которой последовали проект Игоря Старкова и Дарьи Андреевой про поселок Калевала в Карелии (январь 2014) и групповой проект, исследующий Подмосковье (июнь 2014) – территорию бывшего Московского княжества.

В 2015 году проект «Department of Research Arts» получил грантовую поддержку Министерства культуры Российской Федерации.

Галерея «Триумф» и Центр современного искусства ВИНЗАВОД представляют новые выставки проекта «Department of Research Arts», которые посвящены двум соседним республикам Поволжья — Марий Эл и Чувашии. Несмотря на географическую близость и устоявшиеся культурные связи, народы, проживающие в этих регионах, очень разные: этнически марийцы принадлежат к финно-уграм, чуваши относятся к тюркской группе и восходят к древним булгарам. Первые и в настоящее время придерживаются традиционных языческих верований, вторые подверглись христианизации в большей степени. Выставка представит фотодокументацию современной жизни марийцев и чувашей, что станет попыткой определения идентичности и особенностей уклада этих народов сегодня.

Архитектура выставки отталкивается от географического соседства регионов, представляя Волгу в качестве важного ландшафтного барьера, определяющего взаимодействие между марийцами и чувашами. В выставку войдут фото- и видеоработы художников, исследовавших Марий Эл и Чувашию в 2010—2014 годах, предметы быта мари и чувашей из частных коллекций, артефакты современной городской культуры, фотографии из семейных архивов, экспедиционные фотодневники Дмитрия Доронина (сотрудника ИАЭ РАН).

«МАРИ. RESEARCH»
Кураторы выставки: Софья Гаврилова, Кристина Романова, Николай Ссорин-Чайков
Фотографы: Икуру Куваджима, Федор Телков, Альбина Шаймуратова, Максим Шер
Научные консультанты: Николай Ссорин-Чайков (Кембриджский университет, научный сотрудник и преподаватель кафедры социальной антропологии), Дмитрий Доронин (Институт антропологии РАН)
Предметы традиционной культуры предоставлены «Землячеством Марий Эл» в Москве и Дмитрием Дорониным, Вячеславом Теркиным.

Марийцы относятся к средним по численности народам России. По данным переписи населения 2010 года в России их насчитывалось чуть менее 550 тысяч человек. Современные мари, помимо республики Марий Эл, также проживают на юге Свердловской области и севере Нижегородской. Несмотря на ассимиляцию коренного населения и смешение с русским, татарским, башкирским и удмуртским этносами, в некоторых марийский поселениях сохраняется исконная культура: языческие обряды, традиционные праздники, утварь и одежда.

В работах фотографов Икуру Куваджима и Альбины Шаймуратовой представлены обряды мари: ежегодное Мировое моление приверженцев марийской религии и празднование Нового года — «Шорык-йол» (по-марийски — «овечья нога»), когда взрослые и дети ищут в темной овчарне белого ягненка, который знаменует удачу в грядущем году. При этом лица колядующих всегда закрыты — чтобы не вылетело плохое слово.

Серия работ фотографа Федора Телкова «Сокрытый народ. Урал-мари» посвящена небольшой группе марийцев, проживающей на Урале. Предки урал-мари эмигрировали в эти места, спасаясь от насильственной христианизации. Хотя здешние жители и были язычниками, на данный момент большинство священных рощ заброшены, а старинные ритуалы встречаются редко. Упадок сформированной столетиями культуры выражается и в том, что язык уже сильно перемешан с русским, а искусство пошива традиционного костюма утеряно. Тем не менее в настоящее время урал-мари пытаются возродить былое и вернуться к истокам, несмотря на значительный отток молодежи из сельской местности в города.

В крупнейших городах республики Марий Эл также заметно желание марийцев, этого древнего поволжского народа, сохранить свою идентичность. Однако обычно это сводятся лишь к тому, что жители адаптируют прежние традиции к современным условиям жизни. Одновременно прослеживается и тенденция подражать в архитектуре и образе жизни столичным городам.

В 2007 году было принято решение изменить облик столицы — Йошкар-Олы, в просторечии — Йошки. Этот небольшой город до 1919 года назывался Царёвококшайском, население перед революцией составляло 2,5 тысячи жителей, на январь прошлого года — 253 тысячи. Его облик сложился в основном после войны, в центре несколько улиц застроены уютными, хотя и обшарпанными двух- и четырехэтажными сталинками, все остальное — привычная российская городская среда: пяти- и девятиэтажки, безликие утилитарные сооружения и промзоны.

В серии фоторабот Максима Шера показано, как сильно изменился город за последние пять лет. Йошкар-Ола напоминает декорации к диснеевским мультфильмам или заснеженный парк аттракционов. Венецианские палаццо, Спасская башня, набережная Брюгге и другие элементы всемирно известных архитектурных памятников стали зрительной доминантой в центральной части города.

«ЧУВАШИ. RESEARCH»
Кураторы выставки: Софья Гаврилова, Кристина Романова, Николай Ссорин-Чайков
Фотографы: Владислав Михайлов, Иван Михайлов, Сергей Новиков
Научные консультанты: Николай Ссорин-Чайков (Кембриджский университет, научный сотрудник и преподаватель кафедры социальной антропологии), Геннадий Иванов-Орков (Чувашский государственный художественный музей, заведующий отделом декоративно-прикладного искусства)

Чуваши — народ тюркского происхождения, коренное население Чувашской Республики. Численность около 1,5 млн, из них в России — 1 млн. 435 тысяч (согласно результатам переписи 2010 года). В Чувашии проживает примерно половина всех чувашей, живущих в России, а небольшая часть — в Казахстане, Узбекистане и на Украине. Традиционные чувашские верования представляли собой сложную систему, для которой характерны многобожие и анимизм. В настоящее время чуваши являются самым многочисленным тюркским народом, большинство верующих которого — христиане.

Иван Михайлов в своем фотопроекте затрагивает вопросы столкновения мифологического языческого прошлого чувашей и современной повседневности — трансформации, происходящие в городе и деревне. В архитектуре новых торговых комплексов и бизнес-центров воспроизводится традиционный орнамент, на фасадах типовых советских многоэтажек можно заметить прикреплённые жителями стволы деревьев, которые являются древним символом мироздания. Портреты молодежи, пустынные берега Волги, проходящей через весь регион, парки и дворы домов на работах Михайлова описывают окружающий современных чувашей визуальный ландшафт.

В Чувашии Иван Михайлов снимал народный праздник акатуй, приуроченный к завершению посевных работ, а также знаменитую Цивильскую ярмарку. На выставке эти серии будут представлены вместе с архивными фото 1980-х годов, снятыми в тех же местах отцом художника, Владиславом Михайловым.

Фотограф Сергей Новиков показывает изменение облика столицы Чувашии — города Чебоксары — за последние 10 лет. Среди местного населения Чебоксары, где проживает около полумиллиона человек, известны как «город на семи оврагах». Огромные продолговатые котловины — это одновременно и неудобство, и своего рода достопримечательность для местного населения. Однако эволюционирует город — эволюционируют и его легендарные овраги. Сегодня доступность ипотечных кредитов и желание новоиспеченных горожан обзавестись собственным жильем подстегнули девелоперов к массовой застройке. Прежде всего, это коснулось окраинных территорий, граничащих с оврагами, которые теперь засыпают для строительства блочных многоэтажек и новой транспортной развязки. Постепенно сектор частного жилья исчезает и многие люди вынуждены переехать с земли, которую обрабатывали их предшественники, чтобы освободить место новостройкам.