Andrey Berger

The Flow
26.01.2018 — 11.02.2018, Triumph Gallery

 

Triumph Gallery proudly presents a solo exhibition by Andrey Berger- one of the most innovative Russian artists to come out of graffiti subculture. Berger, who is still active on street art scene, has participated in numerous group exhibitions and street art festivals. Some of his recent and most important projects include ‘’Urbanism: in my consciousness’’ (Moscow Museum, 2014), ‘’StreetARCH. From monumental propaganda to street art’’ (Schusev’s State Museum of Architecture, 2014), Art Basel Miami’s official parallel program (Wynwood, Miami,US, 2014), UrbanArt Biennale (Volkingen, Germany, 2015), Stroke Art Fair (Munich, Germany, 2016), ‘’Metamorphs’’ (MARS Center, 2016).

Berger’s distinguishable style is characterized by a thorough attitude towards forms and architectural elements of his work while his graphics are well-recognized for its monochrome color schemes, multilayered structure and always an unerring improvisation. The ‘’Flow’’ (‘’Potok’’) exhibition would showcase Berger’s artistic transition from mural surfaces to paper that later inspired artist’s conversion from flat canvas surfaces to three-dimensional practices. For this project, Berger has produced entirely new works that feature references to street art, usage of its cultural codes that are being rethought and evolve into other artistic practices.

For Andrey, creative progress turns into a constant flow of complex, multilayered personal experiences and memories. Berger expresses inner emotions through witty personal techniques and distinctive visual language. Apart from graphics and paintings, Andrey would produce a site-specific mural. His interior murals intervene with the space, often completely modifying exhibition’s hall. One of Berger’s key incentives is to experience and visualize the resemblance between one’s metaphysical size and the metaphysical size of an exhibiting space. Andrey believes that an artist is capable of destroying the two-dimensional edges of an artistic universe, determining new qualities of shape and volume, redefining the rules of gravity and to create multi-level portals in what appeared to be monolith, two-dimensional spheres.

Андрей Бергер

Поток
26.01.2018 — 11.02.2018, Галерея "Триумф"

Галерея «Триумф» впервые представляет выставку Андрея Бергера – одиного из наиболее прогрессивных российских художников, вышедших из субкультуры граффити. Активный участник стрит-арт сцены, он принимал участие во многих выставках и фестивалях уличного искусства. Среди важнейших проектов: «Урбанизм: Город в моем сознании» (Музей Москвы, 2014), «СтритАРХ. От монументальной пропаганды к стрит-арту» (Государственный музей архитектуры имени А.В.Щусева, 2014), параллельной программе Art Basel (Wynwood Miami, USA, 2014), UrbanArt Biennale (Volklingen, Germany, 2015, Stroke Art Fair (Munich, Germany, 2016), «Метаморфы» (Центр МАРС, 2016).

Стиль Бергера отличает внимание к форме и архитектурным элементам, а узнаваемую графику – многослойность, монохромные цвета и всегда безошибочная импровизация. Выставка «Поток» в галерее Триумф продемонстрирует личный творческий путь художника с поверхности стены на бумагу, за которым последовал и вовсе выход из плоскости в объем и трехмерное пространство. Для этого проекта Бергер создал новые работы, в которых можно увидеть наследование культурных кодов из среды уличного искусства, трансформируемых в иные творческие практики.

Процесс создания для Андрея превращается в поток личных переживаний, многослойный и сложный. Используя индивидуальный стиль и техники, Бергер транслирует зрителю свои внутренние движения визуальным языком . Помимо графических и живописных работ, Андрей сделает сайт-специфик росписи. Его работы, выполненные на стенах, зачастую активно взаимодействуют с пространством, порой и вовсе видоизменяя его. Одна из важных задач, которую Бергер ставит перед собой – ощутить свою сомасштабность тому пространству, в структуру которого он вторгается. По словам Андрея, художник способен разрушать существующие ребра жесткости, выявлять новые объемно-пространственные особенности, лишать массивы гравитационного влияния и прорубать порталы в, казалось бы, монолитных плоскостях.