Dmitry Bulnygin

Surface in Tension
27.09. 2017— 29.10.2017, Triumph Gallery

Triumph Gallery is proud to present a personal exhibition of Dmitry Bulnygin Surface in Tension. Dmitry is a member of the project Fathers and Sons, aiming to create a comprehensive overview of the two generations of the Russian video-art scene. Educated as an architect, we was one of the pioneers experimenting with the new media in Russian art.

At the exhibition Surface in tension his works of recent years will be presented, based on the constituent elements of the architecture of the modern city and natural formations.

Dmitry Bulnygin converts video into a volume using the transformation of the matter and its flows. His approach, tied to architecture and urban environment, contains vivid memories, translated in his artworks into alternations of the plain and the crumpled, the rippling and the overflowing light. Receivers and surfaces of tensions, these objects, disturbed and manipulated by the artist, fascinate the viewer with their hybrid shapes that become shapeless.

Sometimes called “documentary sculptures”, these objects suggest visions from memories and a fossil architecture. Deformations introduced by the artist mock the existing buildings. Infrastructure objects were once conceived to assist the man in his lifestyle. Their solid nature seemed to be capable of reassuring and serving as an illustration for a predictable future. The materialized critique contained in these pieces reveals their current state of decay and unsuitability. The persistence in using vertical forms suggests that as long as the structure holds, it will continue to exist, in tension. And at that moment these constructions start fading in a metaphorical sense. Soon after being erected, the buildings get “buried”, becoming cumbersome. The easiest solution would be to burn them: “There is nothing to save here!”

Let us forget the architecture of the past, the architecture of our dreams is still present and it regenerates.

Дмитрий Булныгин

Поверхностное натяжение
27.09. 2017— 24.10.2017, Галерея "Триумф"

Галерея «Триумф» представляет выставку «Поверхностное натяжение» участника цикла «Отцы и дети» Дмитрия Булныгина. Архитектор по образованию, он одним из первых в России обратился к новым медиа в искусстве.

На выставке «Поверхностное натяжение» будут представлены работы последних лет, основанные на составляющих элементах архитектуры современного города и природных образованиях.

Дмитрий Булныгин преобразует видео в объем, используя трансформацию материи и ее потоков. Его подход, неразрывно связанный с архитектурой и городской средой, аккумулирует в себе живые воспоминания, которые транслируются в его произведениях чередованием гладких и изломанных поверхностей, пульсирующего и разлитого света. Объекты и поверхности, испытывающие на себе натяжение, потревоженные художником и оказавшиеся под его воздействием, очаровывают гибридностью форм, превращающихся в бесформенность.

Представленные объекты, иногда называемые «документальными скульптурами», предлагают видения из воспоминаний и окаменевшую архитектуру. Введенные художником деформации — насмешки над существующими строениями. Объекты инфраструктуры когда-то задумывались, чтобы помочь человеку в его образе жизни. Их твердость, казалось, могла придать уверенности и служить иллюстрацией предсказуемого будущего. В этих работах материализованная критика обнажает их текущее состояние разложения и непригодности. Настойчивое использование вертикальных форм предполагает, что сохранение целостности строения гарантирует его существование в состоянии натяжения. И тогда эти конструкции начинают увядать метафорически. Вскоре после возведения, строения оказываются «похоронены», становясь громоздкими. Самым простым решением было бы сжечь их — «Здесь нечего спасать!»

Забудем архитектуру прошлого — архитектура мечты еще присутствует и воссоздает себя.