Alexander Obrazumov

Limited Fuctionality Mode
07.03.2018 — 08.04.2018, MMOMA

Moscow Museum of Modern Art and Triumph gallery present a Limited Fuctionality Mode, personal exhibition by Alexander Obrazumov that comprises new objects and installations, as well as works from the recent two years. The exhibition is part of the MMOMA Program to Support Young Art and the Young Lions project by Triumph gallery.

Limited Functionality Mode is continued exploration of day-to-day rituals by means of analysis of reality perception through a bureaucratic lens and conception of the modern office life as the world behind the looking-glass. The art pieces appear to be fished out from the “collective unconscious” of an average corporate worker and devoid of function – presented to the audience in a new contradictory quality.

Alexander Obrazumov works with total installations, explores and visualizes modern-day rituals, unconscious processes and the consumer mindset. In his earlier projects, the artist addressed money spells for attracting wealth in his YouTube video installations (exhibition 7753191, 2015), looked into the total model of corporate existence (exhibition Confidential Content, 2015), created a mystical parallel world with Genda Fluid (Antonita Baever) at exhibition There is no Siberia on Mars (2017).

“In the new project, the artist tells us about the economy of stress and anxiety, the four horsemen of audit, bloody insinuations towards stationary. Also telling us where the moral code of an office clerk is and where their starry sky and paradise beach are. And, of course, about the utility of the limited functionality mode,” Andrey Parshikov.

Александр Образумов

Режим ограниченной функциональности
07.03.2018 — 08.04.2018, MMOMA

Московский музей современного искусства и галерея «Триумф» представляют персональную выставку Александра Образумова «Режим ограниченной функциональности», в которую вошли новые объекты и инсталляции художника, а также работы, созданные им в течение последних двух лет. Выставка проходит в рамках программы поддержки молодого искусства ММОМА, а также в рамках программы «Молодые львы» галереи «Триумф».

В выставочном проекте «Режим ограниченной функциональности» художник продолжает исследование повседневных ритуалов, обращаясь к анализу бюрократического восприятия действительности и конструируя мистическое зазеркалье современной офисной жизни. Все объекты в экспозиции будто выхвачены из «коллективного бессознательного» среднестатистических сотрудников корпораций, но лишены своих функций, представая перед зрителями в новом парадоксальном качестве.

Александр Образумов работает в жанре тотальной инсталляции, занимается исследованием и визуализацией современных ритуалов, подсознательных процессов и изучением потребительского мышления. В своих предыдущих проектах он обращался к теме приворотов на деньги по видеоинструкциям на Youtube (выставка «7753191», 2015), рассматривал тотальную модель корпоративного существования (выставка «Содержание конфиденциально», 2015), создавал параллельный мифический мир совместно с Джендой Флюид (Антонина Баевер) на выставке «На Марсе нет Сибири» (2017).

«В новом проекте художник расскажет об экономике стресса и тревоги, о четырех всадниках аудита, о кровавых наветах канцелярских принадлежностей. О том, где у офисного клерка моральный закон, а где его звездное небо и райский пляж. А также, конечно, о пользе режима ограниченной функциональности» — Андрей Паршиков.